The Best #Fundraising Blogs You Should be Reading

Every year, new authors enter the blog-o-sphere. It’s a challenge to keep track of all of the blogs for nonprofit managers and fundraising professionals. It’s even more difficult to determine which blogs are worth dr-seuss-reading-quote-by-linda-jordan-via-flickrvisiting regularly.

If you’re like most folks working in the nonprofit sector, you don’t have a lot of spare time to devote to professional development. You must attend endless meetings, generate reports, cultivate prospects and donors, and raise even more money than you did last year. Ugh!

So, let me help you by sharing two new lists with links to some of the best blogs for you:

100+ Fundraising Blogs You Should Be Reading in 2017” by Kristen Hay, Marketing Coordinator at Bloomerang

50 Must-Read Fundraising Blogs You Should Be Reading” by Anuj Agarwal, Founder of Feedspot.com

As I read the lists, two things struck me:

1.  There are a number of worthwhile blogs with which I was previously unfamiliar. I make an ongoing effort to keep up with the wealth of material in the marketplace, but it’s a challenge. I’m grateful that Bloomerang and Feedspot have pointed me in the direction of blogs worth exploring.

2.  I discovered that my blog made it on to both lists. I’m honored to be included alongside many nonprofit professionals I have long respected. I thank you and all of my readers for inspiring me to blog and helping me receive the recognition I have been given over the years.

To find four great lists of blog sites from last year, along with other valuable resources, checkout my post: “You Don’t Want to Miss These Worthwhile Items from 2016.”

Reading great blogs delivers several benefits:

1.  You’ll get practical information to help you raise more money and better manage your organization.

2.  You’ll be inspired.

3.  You’ll gain validation when you discover you’re already on the right track.

4.  You’ll learn about upcoming webinars, conferences, seminars, research papers, and more.

5.  You’ll be able to share your own thoughts and insights by commenting on blogs.

6.  Learning new things keeps your mind sharp generally and will help keep you young.

7.  You’ll get all of these benefits and more, usually at no charge. In other words, you can enhance your professional development for free!

To make finding interesting, individual blog posts a bit easier, you might want to join the LinkedIn Discussion Group I created: Blog Posts for Fundraising Pros & Nonprofit Managers. Be sure to check it out.

What are some of the things you do to develop your professional skills?

That’s what Michael Rosen says… What do you say?

6 Comments to “The Best #Fundraising Blogs You Should be Reading”

  1. Hi, this was so helpful for me. Full of knowlegeful stuff about fundraising. Post some other post about online community fundraising. Thanks

  2. Michael,

    Thanks for including the blog list. I’m going to share it with colleagues at our firm.

    A professional could spend his life learning more about raising money for missions – and so far, I have…within 18 months of a full 50-year career. Still, I learn. If I ever thought for a nanosecond that I knew everything there was to know about this business, I’d just have somebody shoot me!

    Thanks ever so much for your work and wisdom.

    Oh, and a happy new year!

    John

    • John, thank you for commenting and letting me know you found the blog lists worth sharing with your colleagues. As you pointed out, one of the hallmarks of a true professional are the willingness to continue learning and honing one’s skills. This reminds me of a quote from the great jazz trumpeter Louis Armstrong:

      If I don’t practice for a day, I know it. If I don’t practice for two days, the critics know it. And if I don’t practice for three days, the public knows it.

      The legendary Satchmo clearly believed in the importance of continually honing his skills. He set a fine example for us all.

      Finally, I want to wish you and yours a Happy New Year!

  3. Hi, this is awesome. I’m honored to be on the list… Monthly donor rocks… Cheers, Erica

Leave a Reply

