You Don’t Want to Miss These Worthwhile Items from 2016

As the frenzied year-end fundraising and holiday season draws to a close, we have an opportunity to catch our breath this week. Like me, you’ve probably found that, between work and family, a 24-hour day just isn’t long enough to accomplish everything we want to do. We need a break every so often.

im-drowning-in-data-by-quinn-dombrowski-via-flickrWhen trying to stay on top of the latest fundraising and nonprofit marketing news and ideas, I know it’s time consuming just to sift through the wealth of articles, blog posts, and books that are published each year. It’s easy to drown in all the information. That means it’s also easy to overlook useful information.

With this blog post, I aim to save you some time and link you to some valuable material by listing some of my most popular posts of 2016, showing you where you can find other excellent bloggers, and by telling you where you can find books recommended by readers who are fundraising professionals and nonprofit managers.

Here is a list of my top ten most read posts published in 2016:

  1. Stop Showering All of Your Donors with Love!
  2. Stop Making Stupid Email and Direct Mail Mistakes
  3. Do You Know that “Planned Giving” is Bad for #Fundraising?
  4. Avoid a Big Mistake: Stop Asking for Bequest Gifts!
  5. Donors Say: Enough about You. Let’s Talk about Me!
  6. How Can Nana Murphy Make You a Better #Fundraising Professional?
  7. How to Avoid a Disastrous Political Debate with Donors
  8. 6 Great #Fundraising Tips from a 6-Year-Old Boy
  9. Do You Know How to Take Criticism?
  10. Stop Pretending that You Work for Stanford!

Here’s a list of five of my older posts that remained popular this year:

I invite you to read any posts that might interest you by clicking on the title above. If you’ve read them all, thank you for being a committed reader.

You might also be interested in reading about my guest blog posts on the Bloomerang site:

Recently, I was interviewed twice for the MarketWatch site. You can find links to the articles as well as my elaboration on my comments here:

To make finding interesting blog posts a bit easier, you might want to join the LinkedIn Discussion Group I created: Blog Posts for Fundraising Pros & Nonprofit Managers.

This is a LinkedIn Group for blog authors and the fundraising professionals and nonprofit managers who read them. Bloggers can promote their latest posts and readers can easily find those that interest them most and engage in thoughtful conversation, all in one place.

This Group provides a welcoming environment for blog authors where they can freely promote their posts. It is also a safe place for readers who may not want to subscribe to multiple blog sites but who want to easily scan the great information that is available across blogs. This is the Group for bloggers and readers to converse with each other.

There are additional resources that can help you find great material. I’m honored to have been included in these best-of blog lists:

Because it’s difficult to know which resources are worth our time and financial investment, I created The Nonprofit Bookstore (powered by Amazon). I created this site to help you find books that will get results and inspire. At the site, you’ll get Amazon’s great prices and service. You’ll also have the satisfaction of knowing that, at no cost to you, a portion of each purchase will be donated to charity.

At The Nonprofit Bookstore, you can search for books or browse categories including “Readers Recommend” and “AFP/Wiley Development Series.” You can learn more and recommend your favorite fundraising and nonprofit management books by reading:

I also want to take this opportunity to thank you and all of my readers. Without you, I’d just be a guy sitting around talking to himself.

I’m honored to know that I have readers from 165 countries around the world. (I love the Internet!) While I appreciate all of my readers, I thought it would be interesting to look, beyond the United States, to see my top five countries for readership:

  • Canada
  • United Kingdom
  • Australia
  • India
  • New Zealand

Just as I value all of my readers, I also greatly appreciate those who take the time to “Like” my posts, share my posts, Tweet my posts, re-blog my posts, and comment on my posts. Writing is a rather lonely activity. So, I particularly enjoy it when folks comment, even if I don’t necessarily agree. I like the conversations. I welcome the additional insights. I appreciate being made to think a bit more deeply. I invite all of my readers to join the conversation.

If you have not subscribed to my blog, you can do so in the right-hand column. When you subscribe, you’ll get a link to a free e-book from philanthropy researcher Dr. Russell James.

Finally, I wish you and yours a joyous, healthy, successful 2017.

That’s what Michael Rosen says… What do you say?

 

book-adv

One Trackback to “You Don’t Want to Miss These Worthwhile Items from 2016”

Leave a Reply

