Special Report: You Read about It Here First

[Publisher’s Note: “Special Reports” are posted from time-to-time as a benefit for subscribers and frequent visitors to this blog. “Special Reports” are not widely promoted. To be notified of all new posts, including “Special Reports,” please take a moment to subscribe in the right-hand column. New subscribers will also receive a free e-book from researcher Dr. Russell James.]

 

At Michael Rosen Says…, I strive to introduce you to exceptional people with something valuable to offer fundraising professionals and nonprofit managers. I also endeavor to share useful tips and provocative opinions with you. From time-to-time, other media outlets take notice. Here are two recent examples:

Isabelle Clérié, Country Director, EGI in Haiti

I introduced you to Isabelle Clérié, a young fundraising professional. At the time, Isabelle was working in the U.S. She has since returned to her native Haiti where she is now Country Director for EGI, an NGO working to combat poverty by assisting and training emerging entrepreneurs.

Isabelle Clérié, Country Director, EGI in Haiti

Isabelle Clérié, Country Director, EGI in Haiti

Isabelle wrote a guest blog post which I published nearly four years ago: “Haiti: A Young Professional’s Compelling Lessons for All Nonprofits.”

The post focused on relief efforts following the 2010 earthquake in Haiti. In addition to providing some interesting insights into the relief efforts, Isabelle shares some valuable tips that can make any charity more effective.

Now, Forbes has discovered Isabelle and has highlighted her work in Haiti in a recent report: “Three Social Entrepreneurs Driving Growth And Change In Haiti.”

I congratulate Isabelle on the much-deserved public recognition she has received, and I applaud EGI for making a difference in Haiti.

I encourage you to read Isabelle’s post and the article in Forbes.

#GivingTuesday

My regular readers know that while I like the idea of #GivingTuesday, I have not been impressed with the results. In fact, I actually have some serious concerns about the occasion.

Recently, The Chronicle of Philanthropy interviewed me for the article “Giving Tuesday? More Like Gimmick Tuesday, Some Small Nonprofits Say.” This gave me the opportunity to once again share my thoughts on the subject. You can download the article and read what I had to say.

You might also want to checkout some of my previous posts about #GivingTuesday:

My biggest gripe about #GivingTuesday is that it has not done much, if anything, to increase overall philanthropy. While some charities might benefit from #GivingTuesday, the entire nonprofit sector really has not. Over time, #GivingTuesday might gain more traction and have more of a positive impact. But, it hasn’t yet realized its potential. While the results for 2015 are not yet available, I suspect the numbers will still be unimpressive. Of course, that won’t stop some folks from declaring #GivingTuesday a glorious success.

As 2015 draws to a close and as we look toward 2016, I will continue to share with you useful ideas, provocative opinions, and interesting insights from guest authors. If there are any topics you’d like me to address, please let me know.

I also want to invite you to join a new Discussion Group on LinkedIn. You can learn about “Blog Posts for Fundraising Pros & Nonprofit Managers” and 10 Groups that I particularly value by reading my post, “What are Your Favorite LinkedIn Discussion Groups?”

That’s what Michael Rosen says… What do you say?

Leave a Reply

