I Get By with a Little Help from My Friends

This week, legendary British singer Joe Cocker lost his fight with cancer and died. At Woodstock in 1969, he famously covered the Beatles song “With a Little Help from My Friends”:

What would you think if I sang out of tune

Would you stand up and walk out on me?

Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song

And I’ll try not to sing out of key”

As I reflect back on my own battle with cancer in 2014, I know I won, in part, because of the help I received from my friends.

Wordle_Merry_ChristmasMy personal friends were always there for me whenever I needed a distraction, supportive conversation, a joke, a ride, a dinner, a hug, etc.

My professional friends around the world always stood by me as well. Folks kept reading my old blog posts and returned once I resumed fresh blogging. Clients returned. My professional friends checked-in with me with cards, calls, visits, and prayers.

My wife and I were touched deeply by the support we both received from all of our friends.

You never walked out on me. As I continue my recovery, I’ll try not to sing out of key. (Okay, I’m being figurative here. In reality, I can only sing out of key. 🙂 )

So, my friend, thank you for your ongoing support. I appreciate it.

I hope you and yours enjoy the holiday season with health and happiness.

Happy belated Chanukah!

Merry Christmas! Happy Christmas! Feliz Navidad! Geseënde Kersfees! Milad Majid! Feliz Natal! Gun Tso Sun Tan’Gung Haw Sun! Kung His Hsin Nien bing Chu Shen Tan! Yukpa, Nitak Hollo Chito! Sretan Bozic! Prejeme Vam Vesele Vanoce a stastny Novy Rok! Glædelig Jul! Vrolijk Kerstfeest en een Gelukkig Nieuwjaar! Zalig Kerstfeest en Gelukkig nieuw jaar! Joyeux Noel! Froehliche Weihnachten! Kala Christouyenna! Jwaye Nowel! Baradin ki shubh kamnaaye! Kellemes Karacsonyi unnepeket! Selamat Hari Natal! Buone Feste Natalizie! Gledelig Jul! Maligayan Pasko! Wesolych Swiat Bozego Narodzenia! Craciun Fericit! Pozdrevlyayu s prazdnikom Rozhdestva is Novim Godom! Noeliniz Ve Yeni Yiliniz Kutlu Olsun! Chuc Mung Giang Sinh!

However you say it, I wish you and yours the very best!

To find out what countries the above greetings come from and to find more holiday greetings from around the globe, click here.

Just as Joe Cocker’s music will live on despite his passing, our good works will also have a lasting impact. Thank you for what you are doing to make the world a better place.

That’s what Michael Rosen says… What do you say?

4 Comments to “I Get By with a Little Help from My Friends”

  1. Thank you, Michael, for reminding us of all that we have to be thankful for. In this season, I am thankful for you and the blessing of your recovery.

  2. You always give me something to think about. Much appreciation for you and best wishes in the coming year as we continue to make a difference (in or out of tune).

Leave a Reply

