A Thanksgiving Like No Other

Thanksgiving 2014. It’s easy to focus on all that is wrong in the world: civil war in Syria, domestic demonstrations, Ebola epidemic, sluggish economy, ISIS attacks, Palestinian-Israeli conflict, etc. If you want to be depressed, just pick up a newspaper or tune into the news on radio, television, or Internet.

Thanksgiving Cartoon by Cathy Liu via FlickrNevertheless, we all have much to be thankful for this season. Sometimes, it’s just a matter of how we choose to view events.

For example, I could choose to view 2014 as a brutal year due to my battle with cancer. On the other hand, I can choose to view 2014 as a heart-warming year as I felt the love from so many during my winning battle with cancer. 2014 is the year I came close to death, but it’s also the year I received a new lease on life. Sometimes, it’s just a matter of how we choose to view events. For me, I’ll choose to think of the glass as half full rather than half-empty.

I have much to be thankful for. Among many other things, I’m thankful for:

  • My life. I began the year fearing that death was near. I finish the year knowing I have a normal life expectancy.
  • The many good thoughts, prayers, love, and helpful acts from friends, family, colleagues, and even strangers.
  • The medical teams at the University of Pennsylvania Abramson Cancer Center and the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Shadyside. They literally saved my life.
  • My readers and clients for their patience and for standing by me.
  • My wife for her heroic efforts, strength, perseverance, and help. She continues to amaze and inspire me.

Thanksgiving is a time for us to reflect on our blessings. It’s a time for us to be with friends and family. While I’ve always understood this, the meaning of this special day has been amplified for me this year.

It’s easy to just go through the motions of the holiday. Great food. Football. Parades. Perhaps some pre-Black Friday shopping. However, to get the most from the day, I hope you will join me in moving through it intentionally. Reflect on the things and people that are special to you. Make sure those you love know it.

I hope you enjoy Thanksgiving, the food, football, parades, and shopping. Just be sure to also count your blessings. It will lift your spirits and recharge your batteries.

I also want to take this opportunity to thank you for everything you do — through your work, volunteerism, and philanthropy — to make the world a better place. The world certainly needs our help. I’m grateful that you’re helping to improve your community and our world.

If you’re looking for some inspiration, checkout my post from last year: “Two Surprising Philanthropists Inspire.”

If you’re interested in some fun holiday reading, checkout my post: “Most of What You Know about Thanksgiving is Wrong!”

Happy Thanksgiving!

That’s what Michael Rosen says… What do you say?

6 Comments to “A Thanksgiving Like No Other”

  1. Wishing everybody a wonderful Thanksgiving! — Erica

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Michael. Your friendship and your continuing recovery are things I am thankful for. Will call soon.

  3. Michael,

    Wishing you continued health and happiness. Thank you for all you give to us year in and year out! Much to be grateful for!

    Best,
    Meryl

Leave a Reply

