SOFII is My Choice!

As my regular readers know, I seldom do what I’m about to do. Actually, I don’t know that I’ve ever done what I’m about to do.

I’m devoting this blog post to promoting someone else’s website, particularly the section on planned giving.

The web page at issue was posted by SOFII, the Showcase of Fundraising Innovation and Inspiration. SOFII was founded by fundraising legend Ken Burnett “to be the most comprehensive, best organised, and most inspiring collection of fundraising related content from around the world.”

Photo from Greenpeace Sweeden Legacy Commercial.

The particular SOFII page I want you to check-out is: “Last Chance to Change the World — Legacies (Bequests) Showcase.” On this page, you’ll find no fewer than 28 links to superb planned giving marketing materials from around the world. For example, you’ll discover Greenpeace Sweeden’s clever legacy commercials, University of Oxford’s legacy brochure with individualized insert, AARP’s planned giving newsletter and booklet, and many other fine samples.

I thank the staff at SOFII and the organizations that provided the materials for enabling this valuable resource. Many blog sites and websites share useful insights, helpful tips, and provocative opinions. SOFII also does those things. But, as you’ll see when you visit the SOFII Legacy page, it lets you see the actual materials that our fellow fundraisers are using. And, you know how beneficial that can be.

After you’ve explored SOFII, please let me know what you think. And, please consider sharing your exceptional materials and stories with SOFII so that this tremendous resource can continue to grow and benefit the nonprofit sector around the world. 

By the way, you can also read an article I was invited to write for SOFII based on one of my previous blog posts. The article is: “Nine Fundraising Tips You Can Learn from a Savvy Seven-year-old. 

That’s what Michael Rosen says… What do you say?

6 Comments to “SOFII is My Choice!”

  1. Michael, I say SOFII is probably my favourite fundraising website and has been for a while, thank you for bringing it to the attention of your readership! Approaching a new project and thinking that it would be really helpful to have a look at what other charities have done – well it’s already there in one place. http://www.sofii.org/node/173 being one that particularly sticks in the mind.

    PS I like the name, too!

    • Sophie, thank you for being the first to comment. It’s wonderfully fitting that someone named Sophie would be the first to comment about SOFII. 🙂 And, thank you for sharing the link to one of your favorite pages.

  2. Hi Michael,

    I was delighted to see this. Thank you for your generous comments and for so enthusiastically promoting SOFII. You are right, we need all the help we can get in gathering good material for the SOFII site. And we have an imbalance now with a relative shortage of good US examples.

    While writing, I want to tell you that I quote you very regularly these days. A while back you said fundraisers need to work hard, “to make sure that common sense becomes common practice.”

    I think that just about hits the nail on the head when addressing most of fundraising’s current shortcomings. We know what we should do. We just need to do it.

    So a double thank you to you. Let’s keep in touch, and I look forward to reading your next guest blog on SOFII, soon.

    All best,

    Ken

    • Ken, thank you for taking the time to comment. I’m glad you liked my piece. And, I’m flattered to know that you’re out there quoting me. I’ll keep trying to come up with quotable nuggets for you and others. 🙂

  3. SOFII is a great website. I love that you can search around for examples via many different search categories/criteria. It is wonderful to have current and historical examples available to review, learn from, and spark inspiration and innovation.
    Keith

Leave a Reply

