Top Ten Posts of 2012, and Other Reflections

We’ve survived another “Doomsday”! Now, as 2012 draws to a close, I thought it would be interesting to look back briefly before we march into the new year.

 

Champagne Toast by viking_79 via Flickr

Happy New Year!

 

For starters, let’s look at which of my posts have been the most read in the past year:

1. Survey Sounds Alarm Bell for Nonprofit Sector

2. Can a Nonprofit Return a Donor’s Gift?

3. 10 Essential Tips to Protect Children from Real Monsters

4. Garth Brooks Sues Hospital for Return of $500,000 Gift

5. 8 Valuable Insights from a Major Donor

6. Overcoming the 9 Fundraising NOs (Bernard Ross)

7. Breaking News: Brain Scan Study Gives Fresh Insight into Charitable Giving Behavior

8. What NOT to Do in Your Email or Direct Mail Appeals

9. 20 Factoids about Planned Giving. Some May Surprise You.

10. Two Major Factors that Demotivate Donors

I invite you to read any posts you might have missed by clicking on the title above. If you’ve read them all, thank you for being a committed reader.

I’m honored to know that I have readers from around the world. (I love the Internet!) While I appreciate all of my readers, I thought it would be interesting to look, beyond the United States, to see my top ten countries for readership:

1. Canada

2. United Kingdom

3. Australia

4. Netherlands

5. India

6. New Zealand

7. Poland

8. Italy

9. Philippines

10. France

Just like I value all of my readers, I also greatly appreciate those who take the time to “Like” my posts, Tweet my posts, re-blog my posts, and comment on my posts. In particular, I want to recognize the following people who have commented most often:

1. Richard Freedlund

2. Jeff Steele

3. Steve Schatz

4. Claire Axelrad

5. Brian Armstrong

Writing is a rather lonely activity. So, I particularly enjoy it when folks comment, even if I don’t necessarily agree. I like the conversations. I welcome the additional insights. I appreciate being made to think a bit more deeply. I invite all of my readers to join the conversation.

For 2013, I will have a couple of surprises for you. And, I’ll be offering a chance for you to win a copy of my book, Donor-Centered Planned Gift Marketing. To make sure you don’t miss any of my regular posts, guest posts, and Special Reports, I encourage you to subscribe to my blog (in the right-hand column).

I have three final messages for 2012: First, I thank you for your readership and your support. Second, I thank you for everything you do to make the world a better place. Third, I wish you and yours the very best in 2013.

That’s what Michael Rosen says… What do you say?

5 Comments to “Top Ten Posts of 2012, and Other Reflections”

  1. We at the Good Counsel were about to put up a similar top 10 post. Our readership countries are very similar as well. Thanks for sharing this. I missed a few of these articles, so I’ll make sure to read them. Best wishes for the New Year, Michael!
    -Dania

    • Dania, thanks for commenting. I wasn’t too surprised by most of the nations that made it into my top 10 list of readership by country. What did surprise me is that I have readers from almost everywhere. Not that long ago, that type of broad distribution would have been impossible. It’s wonderful to be able to connect with folks from around the globe so we can learn from each other.

      By the way, I enjoyed James Toscano’s post with his list of New Year resolutions that was on your blog site. In the past, my own resolutions were far less lofty. For example, one year, I resolved to eat more chocolate; that was an easy one to keep! I applaud James for being far more noble with his resolutions than I am. Happy New Year to you both!

  2. Thank you for a rousing, provocative year of posting! Although I don’t always comment (or agree), I do take the time to read what you’ve written. I found the discussions around the Garth Brooks gift post and the 20 factoids especially interesting. Looking forward to reading your insights and sharing mine in 2013! Best wishes for a Happy New Year!

    • Brenda, I always appreciate hearing from you. Thanks for stopping by. Yes, there are quite a number of times that folks disagree with what I write. If that wasn’t the case, it would mean I was really, really boring. :-) I hope that when folks do disagree with me, I’ve at least helped them to see a different point of view and, maybe, rethink their opinion a bit. I know always appreciate the opportunity to think more deeply about an issue or consider a perspective I had not previously thought about. Thank you for your support and for providing additional insights. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 706 other followers

